Long Overdue

So apparently, I still have blog. Oops! First semester came and went…clearly. Second semester is starting, so we’ll see how that goes.

Anyways, something got my goat today. It’s this poster that I keep seeing on Pinterest, and since I’m studying to be a Registered Dietitian, I got a little peeved after reading this thing.

     

but are they really?

First of all, I agree with the refined flours and liquid carbohydrates contributing to fat gain.   We as Americans are so into processed food it’s disgusting.  Our bodies were not created to digest chemicals and preservatives.  The starches’ being in that section I don’t quite agree with. Potatoes and corn are complex carbohydrates…which, in essence, means they’re broken down in your body more slowly.

*sigh* Then, they HAD to mention the Atkins Diet. Anyone who knows extremely well (which is a pretty small number, so feel privileged) knows that I hate the Atkins Diet.  The statistics might be correct, but those who have attempted the Atkins Diet have had increased heart disease and atherosclerosis (hardening of the arteries).  That’s what fat does to your body.

Yes, excess carbs are stored as fat, but you can’t go on eating as much fat and protein as you want.  Your brain REQUIRES glucose in order to function.  All carbohydrates are broken down in your body to become glucose, so the type of sugar you eat doesn’t exactly matter. What matters is the calorie load that is associated with that sugar.  Refined sugars and carbohydrates are commonly used in foods with high calorie contents.

What’s the moral of the story? Keep eating carbs!!! Your brain will thank you. There’s a reason that most everything we eat is made of carbohydrates (that’s where you get energy by the way). Limit processed food, be mindful of how many cookies have found their way into your stomach, and use whole grain or whole wheat products when possible.

Ok, I’m off my soapbox……for now. ; ]

About thedixiewolverine

I'm a bonafide Dixie chick who happens to be in love with the Michigan Wolverines. I'm exploring my first year of college while trying to figure out where God is taking me in my short vapor of a life. This is my story. Have a good one, y'all!
This entry was posted in Nutritious Knowledge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

